Judges Applaud David’s Risk-Taking

If Paula, Simon and Randy decided the results on “American Idol,” David Archuleta would probably be safe this week.  Here is a quick look at what the judges had to say about David’s performances Tuesday night:

“And So It Goes” – Billy Joel
RANDY
“You can sing anything, dude.  The Billy Joel thing works well on you. You are in the zone.  You are in it to win it, baby!”

PAULA
“It was a pure and stunning performance.  I really felt that you were a storyteller. It was a beautiful performance.”

SIMON
“It was very good.  No surprises. A bit predictable.  It was good.  I didn’t think it was outstanding. Good.”

“With You” – Chris Brown
RANDY
“I’m not sure it was the right song.  Seeing you singing ‘my boo’ was like – I couldn’t believe it.”

PAULA
“I think you should be singing songs like this.  I think you’re so used to singing ballads, but this is another part of who you are.  I think you did a great job.”

SIMON
“It was a little bit like a chihuahua trying to be a tiger, insomuch as it’s not really you.  I thought it was all a bit awkward – the dancing.

“Longer” – Dan Fogelberg
RANDY
“Listen, dude, you could sing the phone book.  It doesn’t matter.  You’re in the zone, vocally.  It was another hot one for you! Hot! Hot! Hot!”

PAULA
“It was a lovely performance, David.  I expect nothing more.  It was just very lovely.”

SIMON
“I’m not going to criticize you, because I think you sang the song very well.  However, I thought the song and the lyrics was absolutely horrible.  It was so gooey and something you’d choose for, like, a 90-year-old.  And you’re 17 years old. Having said that, I do think you’ve done enough to get into the finals next week.

Be sure to watch FOX on Wednesday night to see who makes it into the top two (other than David Archuleta, of course). 🙂

7 Responses to “Judges Applaud David’s Risk-Taking”

  1. jennifer Says:

    He did great IMO.
    The first one, the song everyone was so worried about as to it’s such a boring; however, David did it amazingly.

    The second one was OK to me. I do like that fact that he chooses recent songs when he had a chance (since he was stuck with those horrible theme all season).

    The last one, another super boring song. Blame it on the Producer who picked it for him. They made him sing it and said it’s horrible song. David is probably the only one on earth who can pull that off, and he did it.

  2. Diana Says:

    David’s rendition of “And So It Goes” was stunning, hands down the best version I have heard. B Joel will be proud.
    Loved also how he delivered the funky catchy “With You” with his rich pure vocals. Go listen to the audio again and it is addictive. Overall Archuleta did Amazing tonight!

  3. Kathleen Says:

    Absolutely amazing! This kid can really sing given the facts that he was stuck with two boring balads. He made me like the first song even though I could not stand it. He even out sang Billy Joel. Simon is a jerk for not giving him enough credits for these performances. THe first performance was not predictable at all. He did unexpectedly well in my opinion. THe second song was very old fashion and it should not be picked for a 17 years old. This was a set up for him not to win. Again, he proved to everyone that he can basically sing anything and any songs regardless how boring it is.

  4. General Custard Says:

    He does so much better when his crazy dad is not around.

  5. fiery Says:

    The producers wanted Jeff Archuleta out of the picture so that they can better manipulate the outcome of the show.

    David Archuleta wanted to do a r&b type of version of “Longer.” This was the version he had been practising, but the producers told him at the last minute that they want him to do the song the traditional way.

    So, they make him sing ballads and the criticize him for singing ballads.

    Also, “With You” was not David’s first choice. He needed to change that because of the producers.

    What’s wrong with this show?

  6. Jennifer Says:

    Oh my gosh, finally someone sees what I see.
    I thought that the reason they want his father out of the arrangement session is because they want to manipulate him easier.

    Gosh I hate this show!


Leave a Reply

