‘Think of Me’ Draws Cheers from Randy and Paula, Jeers from Simon

David Arhuleta Performs \"Think of Me\"

This week on “American Idol,” David Archuleta and his fellow top 6 contestants performed songs by world-renowned musical composer Andrew Lloyd Webber.

Archuleta sang “Think of Me” from Lloyd Webber’s “Phantom of the Opera.”

“It was the bomb,” Randy Jackson exclaimed. “This boy’s the one to beat.”

“You took a risk on a known theatrical song and were quite able to turn it into a pop ballad,” said Paula, who also called the performance “perfect.”

But “Think of Me” was “one of [David’s] weakest performances,” according to Simon Cowell. “It was all a bit forgettable for me,” he said, breaking his habit of treating David nicer than most “Idol” contestants.

But even Simon thought the performance was enough to carry David Archuleta into the next round.

5 Responses to “‘Think of Me’ Draws Cheers from Randy and Paula, Jeers from Simon”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    Normally, I tend to see Simon’s side of things and appreciate his honesty…but tonight “he was off his head” as they say in England. What was he thinking? I for one am still singing it in my head so it was anything but forgettable! I thought David Archuleta did a fantastic job and as usual left me with goosebumps.

  2. Katie Says:

    I thought David did a fantastic job last night (as usual). Even though that song was written for a female diva, I said to my husband, “Why can’t a guy sing that song?” It would make me swoon if David were to sing it to me. I can’t wait to see David in the finale!

  3. Magdalene Says:

    I am very familiar with the original version of “Think of Me” and David’s contemporary take was just fabulous. It was certainly memorable for me as I too have never heard it sang by by a guy – and to be swept off my feet at that!
    I suspect Simon was not raving over it like Randy and Paula because he may not really know the song to begin with. He did however say it was ‘pleasant’ and that the performance will easily take David to the next round. So not all negative. All in all I think the risk David took paid off and perhaps won him new fans.

  4. Sarah Says:

    I tend to agree with Simon as well, but once in a while he just misses the mark completely! I enjoyed the performance so much that I watched it twice in a row, and then again later with my husband. He has got awesome talent, and this show should take him far. I do not think that he has anything to worry about this week. He has really found his groove and I am really looking to seeing what he can do in the future.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    good job david a


Leave a Reply

